Skip to content

Hall of Fame

To be considered for inclusion in the Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering Department Hall of Fame, inductees  must have earned a degree from the UT Department of Mechanical, Aerospace, & Biomedical Engineering (MABE), or an engineering degree from another accredited engineering school or college with a sustained positive relationship with the MABE Department; have had at least ten years of engineering and/or other professional experience since earning their engineering degree; and be recognized for their accomplishments and contributions to the profession and to society by membership in honorary societies and receipt or special honors and awards from recognized national and international academic and/or industrial organizations.


Joel F. Bailey

joel_bailey2Bailey received mechanical engineering degrees from Purdue and Lehigh University and he joined the University of Tennessee faculty in 1949. From 1952-1973, he was head of the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Program and, among many other achievements, helped establish the graduate study program at the Arnold Engineering Development Center in Tullahoma. His positive impact on the department and the students was immense and continues today. During his career, he also held academic positions at Lehigh University, Oregon State College, and Northwestern University. In 1967, Bailey was named an Alumni Distinguished Professor.

Howard E. Chambers

HowardChambers received his B.S. in mechanical engineering from UT in 1964. He retired from The Boeing Company in 2011 after holding several positions within the company including vice president and deputy program manager of the 787 Commercial Airplane Program and vice president and general manager of Space and Intelligence Systems for Boeing’s Integrated Defense Systems. Chambers was Chairman of the Board of Boeing Satellite Systems International, Inc., Chairman of the Board and CEO of Boeing Satellite Systems, Inc. and Chairman of the Board of Spectrolab, Inc. He received the 2002 Amelia Earhart Award for mentoring and was the 2009 recipient of the Nathan Dougherty Award. In 2015, he received the University of Tennessee Alumni Service Award partly for his service on the College of Engineering Board of Advisors.

Kimberly S. Greene

Kim2Greene received her B.S. in Engineering Science and Mechanics from UT in 1988. She began her engineering career at Southern Company in 1991 where she ascended to many leadership roles including vice president of finance and treasurer. In 2007, she joined TVA where she served as chief financial officer, executive vice president of financial services, and chief risk officer. She returned to Southern Company in 2013 as president and CEO of Southern Company Services. In 2014, she was named chief operating officer and executive vice president of Southern Company.

Greene serves on the advisory boards of the University of Tennessee College of Engineering and the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Engineering. She is a member of the Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame; a recipient of the University of Tennessee Distinguished Alumni Award; named Top 25 Power Women to Watch by Atlanta Woman Magazine; and named Power Gen’s 2015 Woman of the Year.


Inaugural Class-2015

Rinehart S. Bright

KMBT_C284e-20150318112914Rinehart Bright received his B.S. in mechanical engineering in 1936. He worked his way through college by shoveling coal to help heat residence halls on campus. Bright had a career that spanned more than 25 years at Chrysler Corporation. His profession had him designing and manufacturing automobiles in New Orleans, Indiana, and Detroit. According to a 1958 article in Fortune Magazine, he was called in to be the “Chief Cost Cutter” to help save Chrysler from the 1957 recession which resulted in losses of over 56% in sales. His efforts resulted in a tremendous rebound and a fundamental shift in how auto companies built their cars across platforms. He helped pioneer the practice of interchangeability in parts across makes and model lines, a practice that led to huge savings and continues with all major automakers today. He retired as vice president of Chrysler in 1977. Bright was the 1974 recipient of the Nathan W. Dougherty Award and served on the university’s Development Council. He passed away in 2006.

Henry W. Hartsfield

Henry-Hartsfield in spacesuitHenry “Hank” Hartsfield received his M.S. in engineering science in 1971. He was UT’s first astronaut, earning selection in 1969. He served as commander of space shuttle Discovery’s maiden mission and flew on three shuttle flights. After his final shuttle flight, Hartsfield served in a number of NASA administrative posts including director of the Technical Integration and Analysis Division at NASA headquarters. He won NASA Distinguished Service Medals in 1982 and 1988; NASA Space Flight Medals in 1982, 1984, and 1985; the NASA Exceptional Service Medal in 1988; and was inducted into the U.S. Astronaut Hall of Fame in 2006 with more than 480 hours spent in space. Hartsfield passed away in 2014.

Interview: NASA Johnson Space Center Henry W. Hartsfield Oral History Interviews

Richard Rosenberg

RosenbergRichard “Dick” Rosenberg received his B.S. in mechanical engineering in 1954. He worked at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Westinghouse and General Atomic in the course of his career and was a member of several mechanical engineering societies. Rosenberg was president of the national American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) from 1987-1988 and received both the Dedicated Service Award and Centennial Medallion from the group in 1988. He was named San Diego Engineer of the Year in 1988. In 2003, Rosenberg was named Honorary Member of ASME for his contributions to the engineering profession, an honor bestowed upon only 350 people since its inception in 1880.

Video: Dick Rosenberg Hall of Fame acceptance speech

William T. Snyder

William SnyderWilliam “Bill” Snyder received his B.S. in mechanical engineering in 1954. After receiving his PhD from Northwestern, he joined the University of Tennessee Space Institute as a professor of aerospace engineering in 1964. He returned to Knoxville as head of the Engineering Science and Mechanics department in 1970. He served as dean of the UT College of Engineering from 1983 to 1992 before becoming chancellor of the University, a role he held until 2001. Snyder was the 2001 recipient of the Nathan W. Dougherty Award and the 1989 recipient of the University of Tennessee National Alumni Association Public Service Award.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.