Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Babu Honored by American Welding Society

UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair of Advanced Manufacturing Professor Suresh Babu has been selected as the recipient of the William Irrgang Memorial Award by the American Welding Society. 

The award, sponsored by The Lincoln Electric Company, is awarded to the individual who has done the most to enhance AWS’ goal of advancing science and technology of welding over the last five years. Headshot of MABE Professor Babu Suresh.

Babu explores the production, design, and performance of transforming materials into parts. His research helps widen the scope of advanced manufacturing and additive manufacturing, also known as 3D printing, which is the process of adding successive layers to make a three-dimensional solid object from a digital model. 

In 2020, Babu was appointed by President Donald Trump to serve a six-year term on the National Science Board. In 2022, he began serving as a senior advisor to the Office of the Provost and Office of Research, Innovation, and Economic Development. 

Babu will be honored at the AWS Awards Recognition Ceremony on October 15th at the Orange County Convention Center in Orlando, Florida. The ceremony takes place during the 2024 FABTECH show. 


Rhiannon Potkey (865-974-0683,