Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Babu Receives Awards for his Expertise

Suresh Babu joined the Tickle College of Engineering as the Governor’s Chair for Advanced Manufacturing in 2013, quickly establishing a role as a key player in UT’s growing reputation as a leader in advanced manufacturing.

His efforts have not gone unnoticed.Sudarsanam Suresh Babu

Babu, who works out of the Departments of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering and of Materials Science and Engineering at UT, recently picked up a bevy of awards for his expertise.

The American Welding Society—of which Babu is a fellow—bestowed the 2017 Comfort A. Adams Lecture Award on him, one of its highest honors.

Named for the founder and first president of the society, the award was created in 1943 as a way to recognize a scientist or engineer who has brought new ideas to the field.

“It is nice to be honored, but it is more satisfying to know the work we do here is having a positive impact on students, on research, and on society,” said Babu. “The whole team in MABE including faculty and students and in collaboration with ORNL associates are making some very positive strides here at UT.”

Considered a lifetime achievement award by the society, it is far from the first honor the AWS has given Babu.

He has been recipient or co-recipient of William Spraragen Memorial Awards in 2011 and 2016, Warren Savage Memorial Awards in 2011, 2013 and 2014, the Adams Memorial Award in 2012 and the William Irrgang Memorial Award in 2011.

The Adams Award is given to educators who have advanced the knowledge of welding, the Irrgang for advancing the science and technology of welding, and the Savage and Spraragen awards are in recognition of key papers being presented.

“Suresh has helped nurture our advanced manufacturing efforts from an already strong position into the widely-recognized program we have today,” said Matthew Mench, head of MABE. “This honor is both well earned and well deserved.”

Babu, who specializes in 3D printing and joining novel materials was also given the UT-Battelle Joint Faculty Award.

In announcing his selection, Oak Ridge National Laboratory recognized Babu’s contributions to additive manufacturing, development of exascale modeling, spirit of collaboration and leadership at both ORNL and UT as reasons for the award.

That expertise has helped UT land partnerships in advanced manufacturing other universities and with agencies, such as the US Department of Energy and the US Air Force.

The UT Research Foundation also helped recognize the contributions Babu has made to both his field and the university, naming him an Innovation Driver Award winner.


By David Goddard