Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Croswell and Van Hooser Join MABE Hall of Fame

Bennett Croswell and Katherine Van Hooser are the newest members of the MABE Hall of Fame, and will be officially inducted during the department’s spring honors banquet in April.

Headshot of Bennett Croswell


Bennett Croswell received his bachelor’s degree in mechanical engineering from UT in 1979. He is the former president of Pratt & Whitney’s Military Engines—retiring in 2017 after a distinguished 38-year career with the company. As president, he oversaw development, production, and support of the company’s military offerings. He held other prominent leadership roles at Pratt & Whitney including vice president, F119 and F135 programs; vice president, Military Development Programs; and vice president, Advanced Programs & Technology. He was also a member of three Collier Trophy Award winning teams—in 2001 for the development of the Integrated Lift Fan Propulsion System for the JSF Program; 2006 for the successful fielding of the F-22 Raptor; and 2014 for the X-47B Unmanned Combat Air System demonstration.

“Attending the University of Tennessee was an experience I have always cherished, and I will be forever grateful to UT and the College of Engineering for providing me a skill set and a foundation that served me so well throughout my career,” Croswell said. “To now be inducted in to the MABE Hall of Fame is truly one of the greatest honors of my life.”

Croswell currently serves on the Tickle College of Engineering Advisory Board and Board of Trustees for the Naval Aviation Museum Foundation.

Headshot of Katherine Van Hooser

Van Hooser

Katherine Van Hooser received her bachelor’s degree in aerospace engineering from UT in 1991. She began her career at the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) in 1991 as a turbomachinery engineer and has held several positions during her tenure including space shuttle main engine chief engineer, space launch system engines chief engineer, and deputy director of the Materials and Processes Laboratory. In 2016, she was promoted to chief engineer of Marshall Space Flight Center, where she provides technical leadership of human exploration, science, and technology programs assigned to the center.

Van Hooser has received several awards including the 2001 NASA Software of the Year Award for her role in developing user-friendly software to model turbomachinery fluid flow; 2008 NASA Exceptional Engineering Achievement Medal; 2010 Silver Snoopy Award, awarded by the astronaut corps for outstanding achievements contributing to flight safety and mission success; and 2011 NASA Distinguished Service Medal, NASA’s highest form of recognition awarded for contributions to NASA’s advancement of interests of the United States.

“The University of Tennessee Department of Mechanical, Aerospace and Biomedical Engineering prepared me well for a career that’s been full of challenges, opportunities, and excitement,” said Van Hooser.  “To have the department that gave so much to me as an undergraduate now reward me for my career achievements is both flattering and a source of great pride.”