Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

MABE Honors Top Students and Faculty at Banquet

Mench and Croswell with award

Bennett Croswell is inducted in the MABE Hall of Fame

Mench and Van Hooser with Award

Katherine Van Hooser is inducted in the MABE Hall of Fame

Over 150 students, faculty, alumni, and distinguished guests filled The Foundry on April 12 to honor MABE’s top students and faculty and the newest hall of fame members. Guest speaker Pete DeBusk, chairman and founder of DeRoyal Industries, shared the history of his successful career and encouraged the crowd to always look at the glass as half full and make the most of the life you have.

Bennett Croswell and Katherine Van Hooser were officially inducted in the department’s hall of fame during the banquet increasing the hall of fame members to eleven.

The student and faculty winners who received awards were:

Lia Winter
MABE Translational Research and Innovation Award

Julie King
MABE Student Leadership Award

Camille Bergin
Outstanding Junior in Aerospace Engineering Award

Simran Dayal
Outstanding Junior in Biomedical Engineering Award

Carter Breeding, William Davis, and Michael Buckley
Outstanding Junior in Mechanical Engineering Award

Jacob McCoy
Outstanding Senior in Aerospace Engineering Award

Kaleb King
Outstanding Senior in Biomedical Engineering Award

Leyton Adams and Nathaniel Brandt
Outstanding Senior in Mechanical Engineering Award

Denzel Bridges, Zhenye Kang, and Seyyed Ali Davari
Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Assistant Professor Caleb Rucker
Thomas Stewart McCorkle Family Endowed Faculty Award

Assistant Professor Andy Sarles
Louis and Ann Hoffman Endowed Excellence in Research Award

Professor Uday Vaidya
B. Ray Thompson Endowed Excellence in Research Award

Associate Professor Chad Duty
MABE Outstanding Faculty Initiative and Leadership Award and Pi Tau Sigma Excellence in Teaching Award

MABE Department Head Matthew Mench surprised Associate Professor Toby Boulet with the Department Head’s Endowed Outstanding Faculty Service Award and announced that the award will be renamed the J.A.M. Boulet Outstanding Faculty (or staff) Service Award in honor of Dr. Boulet who is retiring at the end of July.