Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Smith Receives Walter R. Lempert Student Paper Award

photo of cary smith in lab

Aerospace engineering doctoral candidate Cary Smith has been selected as the 2019 winner of the Walter R. Lempert Student Paper Award in Diagnostics for Fluid Mechanics, Plasma Physics, and Energy Transfer.

Smith’s winning paper is entitled “Single-Exposure Field-of-View Extension Using Multiplexed Structured Image Capture,” and was co-authored by MABE Undergraduate Research Fellowship student Jacob Harrold, UTSI Research Professor Mark Gragston, and Smith’s advisor, Professor Zhili Zhang.

The award is presented each year by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) to honor the legacy of the late Walter Lempert, an outstanding scientist and engineer who had a profound impact on AIAA and the overall scientific community.

The award is jointly sponsored by AIAA’s Aerodynamic Measurement Technology (AMT), Plasmadynamics and Lasers (PDL), and Propellants and Combustion (PC) technical committees. Each committee nominated one paper for the award with the winner being selected by a panel of judges evenly chosen from the AMT, PDL, and PC memberships.

Smith’s paper was selected due to its “high technical quality and outstanding contribution to innovative advancement of diagnostics for fluid mechanics, plasma physics and energy transfer.”

The $500 award and certificate of merit will be presented to Smith at the AIAA Science and Technology Forum and Exposition (SciTech) in January.